mindful minimalism: home

lost hope

…it got real bad right before we moved this spring. real bad.

Thanks for letting me drag y’all on my little journey of self assessment. So far, I’ve looked at me and my relationship with food and input. This week I want to think about home and how I can streamline and simplify life where we live.

This spring we moved from a wee little 3 bedroom downtown bungalow to a bigger space outside the city. Amazingly, we managed to fill this house almost completely with what was stuffed into Grace Cottage.

It’s made me think about how I hang onto things because they might be useful one day, or they mean something, or they belonged to someone I loved. I also accumulate stuff because it’s on sale or it was a great deal, not because it’s useful or sentimental.

This week I want to share a few ways I’m thinking through this. I’ll do a closet purge and talk about a few things that are working for us, like a chore chart. I’ll throw in a few bits of house-and-home-keeping philosophy (from yours truly and from others) for fun.

gray31days

31 Days of Mindful Minimalism: Day Eighteen

2 responses to “mindful minimalism: home

  1. Pingback: the minimalist schedule. |

  2. Pingback: right on schedule. |

Leave a Reply

