input: temptation.

workshopSo. I was going to post a picture of a sweet vintage kitchen wall clock today. It belonged to my grandparents. It’s faux wood with burnt orange flowers and muddy green leaves. I had it in storage since we moved this spring and waited to find a spot for it in our new house. See that saw that says DELTA? The clock was right on the shelf above it a few months ago.

I realized this week that a huge reason I’m tempted to check input constantly is that I take my phone with me up to our school room (above the garage) so I can know what time it is. I quit wearing a watch years ago. But every time I check the time, I think, well while I’m clicking for the time, why not just check my email and instagram? anything new on feedly? ooh, a new text! I’ll just send a quick reply. this happened more often than I’d like to admit.

I could simply and quickly remove the temptation by putting that sweet little wall clock in my school room and leave my phone downstairs. When I wrote my schedule for 31 Days, I’d planned to take that clock today and put it in our schoolroom.

I went to grab it off that shelf and it’s not there. Scott cleaned up the workshop a few weeks ago and it’s been moved somewhere that I can’t find. I’m sure it’s there, but it’ll be a few days before we can locate it (I hope.)

The point is, sometimes the solution to input overload is to remove the source of temptation.

What quick fix can you do today to keep input within good boundaries?

gray31daysDay seventeen of 31 Days of Mindful Minimalism.  

 

Leave a Reply

