food fight.

photo (7)This has always been one of my most favorite verses from the Bible. Little did I know how meaningful it would be to me in this past year.

I’ve lived the better part of my life having a love/hate relationship with food. It’s one of those things in life that brings such pleasure, yet can carry with it guilt, shame, and frustration. A constant food fight.

I wasn’t prepared for the freedom that came with going vegan. Because of things I willingly eliminated from my diet, I was no longer faced with the agony of should i eat this/i shouldn’t have eaten this/because i ate this now i have to…/WHY did i eat this/i hate food/but it tastes so good  mentality that gripped my mind for years.

I went vegan to deal with my cholesterol problem.  For me, it was the only way to make a significant change without medicine, and I’ve been very strict about it. And gotten great results: it went down 80 points in six months; my next checkup is in November and I’m hopeful for even better numbers.

Being vegan transitioned from being a temporary-fix-the-problem diet to becoming a way of life. Yes, I was reaping health benefits, but to me the most unexpected thing about it was how I was not longer on the treadmill of emotions about eating. Food stopped being a source of frustration and became a meaningful way to nourish my body.

Of course this meant I had to give up things I loved (cheese, barbecue, cheese, chickfila biscuits, cheese, bacon, and cheese). But instead of seeing my new eating lifestyle as restrictive, a new world opened up to me. I probably never would have gotten a vegan cookbook from the library. I wouldn’t have sought out ‘vegan friendly’ restaurants when traveling. I would have left every holiday party feeling sorry for something I’d eaten.

Now, I might have to leave a party hungry because every dish has dairy, eggs, or meat. But you know what? That’s okay. Before, I would have resented being kept from something delicious. Now, I’m thankful that because of my decision, I can leave without guilt.

I never want to get ‘vegangelical’ on anyone. This is just a choice I’m making. (Made much easier by the fact that my husband is doing it with me.) For me, this has been a beautiful journey into wellness. I’ve still got work to do, but I’m thankful for the pleasant places inside the boundaries of plant based eating.

PS: I’m not a real vegan because I still eat honey and wear leather. So, there’s that.

PPS: If you’re interested in knowing more about the benefits of plant based eating, check out Forks Over Knives. It’s free to watch.

This is day three in a series called 31 Days of Mindful Minimalism, hosted by The Nester.

 

4 responses to “food fight.

  1. Rebecca Kneisley

    Thanks to you and your leadership our high school small group, sweet MB, that verse is also one of MY favorite life verses. Really cool to hear how you can now relate that passage to food. Lots of love to you and your fam!

  2. Pingback: settling v. mindful consumption |

  3. Pingback: unprocessed: final thoughts |

  4. Pingback: right on schedule. |

Leave a Reply

