Day One.

mtns fall 2012 050

31 Days of Mindful Minimalism came about as I crossed the one year mark of going vegan. Then the cool air blew in and made me take a look at my wardrobe. Jack started playing lacrosse, our first move back into extra curriculars in almost two years. We started school again, and I found myself feeling a new hope and freedom with our schedule. And it’s my birthday month, which always seems to bring a new layer of personal reflection.

This month I’ll focus on four aspects of streamlining life and of personal challenge: Food, Input, Home, and Schedule.

First I’ll talk about food. I’ll challenge myself to a week of unprocessed food and talk more about my plant based lifestyle. Next week I will discuss Input and share some thoughts about social media, blogging and keeping perspective. Then I’ll focus on how I’m decluttering and simplfying our home in practical ways, with some philosophical reflections added to the mix. Lastly, I will talk about scheduling and some ways we’ve chosen to live that have been a huge blessing to our family.

At the end of each segment, I want to leave space to address any thoughts you have based on previous posts. So pretty please, won’t you share with me anything you’d like to discuss further? 

Also. I have to tell you that I am pretty much the least tech-savvy blogger ever. Ellen had to make my button and then log onto my wordpress account for me to load it. I don’t even know how to get instagram pictures onto my blog. But perhaps this month I’ll learn something new too!

My hope this month is to replace mindless living with thoughtful intention.  The overarching principle I want to embrace is my daily need for God’s grace, and how nothing I could ever eliminate from my life will satisfy me the way filling my mind and heart with more of Jesus can. So first, before all else, is time in His Word. It’s easy to let those treasured moments fall by the wayside with the grind of daily living. But I want to be consumed by His love, not by my quest for personal betterment.

gray31days

This is Day One in a series called 31 Days of Mindful Minimalism.

3 responses to “Day One.

  1. Girl, you got this. Sounds like a great plan and I can’t wait to read. I love the phrase mindful minimalism. I say I write about living simply but mindful minimalism rolls off the tongue!

  2. Pingback: the minimalist schedule. |

Leave a Reply

