He Giveth More Grace

 
He giveth more grace when the burdens grow greater,
He sendeth more strength when the labors increase;
To added affliction He addeth His mercy,
To multiplied trials, His multiplied peace.

When we have exhausted our store of endurance,
When our strength has failed ere the day is half done,
When we reach the end of our hoarded resources,
Our Father’s full giving is only begun.

Fear not that thy need shall exceed His provision,
Our God ever yearns His resources to share;
Lean hard on the arm everlasting, availing;
The Father both thee and thy load will upbear.

His love has no limit, His grace has no measure.
His pow’r has no boundary known unto men;
For out of His infinite riches in Jesus,
He giveth, and giveth, and giveth again!

~Annie Johnson Flint

3 responses to “He Giveth More Grace

  1. Amen. What a beautiful poem. It reminds me of the praise song, “More Love, More Power”, except this poem more clearly honors the amazing strength of Jehovah Jireh. Thank you for sharing these inspiring words!

  2. Greetings from Wordwise Hymns. Did you know that this poem of Annie Johnson Flint’s is also a song? Your blog caught my eye because I posted an article on it this morning.

    I am curious about one thing, however. I’m wondering where the third stanza came from (“Fear not…”). I have books by Miss Flint going back to the 1920’s, at least two of which contain this poem. But none has that stanza–nor does it quite sound like her. She was a skilled poet, and “upbear” seems rather awkward.

    • Hi, Robert- I didn’t know it was a song, but I’m thrilled hear that and to discover your site. Thanks for commenting. I had not heard that third stanza either, until I searched for the complete poem on the internet. I found it at Homemaker’s Corner and liked it enough to include it- had not occurred to me that it may not be original. Thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

