recipe: ten minute tortellini soup

Can you even bear to think about eating after this weekend? I truly could not eat lunch today… but wanted to have something light for supper tonight. My mom just got Birmingham’s newest Junior League cookbook, Table of Contents and I browsed through it today while I was over visiting. If there’s one thing I know about those Junior League ladies, it’s that their cookbooks are always awesome.

This recipe caught my eye because it promised to have dinner on the table in 15 minutes. Sign me up for that! It called for cannelleni beans which I don’t love but I subbed navy beans and it worked just fine. Not only was this super fast and yummy, but my kids even gobbled it up- score!

Warm Tortellini Soup
makes 6 cups (served the 5 of us with leftovers)

4 cups low sodium chicken broth (=1 -32 oz. box of broth)
9 oz. fresh tortellini (cheese or chicken)
1- 15 oz. can cannellini  beans, drained and rinsed (I used Navy Beans)
1- 15 oz. diced Italian style tomatoes (with basil, garlic and oregano)
1/4 cup fresh chopped basil
1 tbsp + 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper to taste
freshly grated parmesan, for garnish

Bring chicken broth to a boil in a stockpot over medium high heat. Add pasta and cook 4 minutes. Stir in beans and tomatoes. Reduce heat to low and simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in basil, balsamic vinegar and season with salt and pepper to taste. Ladle into bowls to serve and garnish with parmesan cheese.

And in case you ever wondered what my children do while I’m standing on the chair in my dining room trying to balance a bowl of soup on my hand and my camera in the other while taking  a picture of the soup up near the good light of the chandelier…, they each requested a photo be taken of them while I was up there. Jack would like you to know that he got a semi-automatic Nerf gun for Christmas. Thank you very much.

 

2 responses to “recipe: ten minute tortellini soup

  1. girrrllll, this is one of my go-to recipes! i’ve been forcing my immortal beloved to eat this since our good years at SBTS in Louisville. Though i’m pretty sure i’ve rarely made it the same way twice. Good, good stuff thought. PS the balancing act was worth it, the pics came out lovely-like and your children can’t take a bad photo. ❤ estrellitazul ps no baby yet..

  2. I love your enthusiasm! I can hear your voice as I read your words. 🙂 Miss you friend. Thanks for the recipe!!

Leave a Reply

