joy’s thief

 

Comparison is the thief of joy. ~C.S. Lewis

Did you know that apparently facebook’s usage worldwide is declining? I’ve heard that it is. Among my facebooking friends, many have said they’ve scaled back or quit using it altogether- because it left them with feelings of inadequacy, jealousy or depression.

Blogs can do that too. I disabled my facebook wall and set it to email me if I get a message, feeling very proud of myself for walking away. So I started blogging and entered into a new world that captivated me, inspired me, and often- left me feeling completely inadequate. You get a peek into someone else’s life, and often they look more glamorous, funny, exciting, healthy, creative, stable, organized, spiritual…. not to mention their blogs look incredible, their pictures perfect, and they are sponsored! Wow.

I don’t mean for this to be a blog-bashing post. What I really mean to share is that there will always be somewhere else to look for purpose, meaning and fulfillment.

There will always be that friend who has more. That house that’s bigger and nicer. The ability to run faster and further (or run at all!). The kids who are better dressed and more well behaved.  The blogger whose writing is more clever and witty. There will always be someone who is the better cook, the better gardener, the better wife or friend.

When we look to the lives of others and compare ourselves, we lose the joy.

LORD, you alone are my portion and my cup; 
   you make my lot secure. 
The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; 
   surely I have a delightful inheritance. ~Psalm 16:5-6

Don’t let comparison steal your joy. Look to others to be inspired, but not to define who you are. Find freedom in the portion that God has assigned to you.

Thanks to LeeAnn for inspiring me to think more about this. And to Ellen who’s beginning to talk about this very issue on her blog.

9 responses to “joy’s thief

  1. MB – I love the line: “When we look to the lives of others and compare ourselves, we lose the joy.” Beautiful!! So sorry if I was less than talkative with you and Scott today – the pain is still slightly overwhelming, but getting better. Love you!

  2. Well said. Love you girl!

  3. Great words of encouragement sweet cousin! I so agree, comparision is such a snare for women & we would all do well to read Psalm 16:5-6 daily & wallpaper it to the walls of our minds. Thank you so much for this post and for inspiring me! Love you bunches 🙂

  4. Love, love this blog and you and your precious family from the top down!

  5. so true… i think that thankfulness and humility are what increase joy. good stuff.

  6. This is a good one MB!

  7. hello! my name is Renee and I was referred to your post by Hannah, who said she was your cousin and that you were writing about a subject i touched upon on my blog. i don’t even know your name- so hello Hannah’s Cousin! 🙂 i love what you wrote and think the verse fits perfectly with the dangers of comparison – when God is our portion- nothing else can possible matter or compete w/that! not even a fancy blog w/sponsors! 🙂

    and btw- i think your blog looks pretty awesome! 🙂

    • Hi Renee! I’m Mary Beth. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’d love to read your post about this too- leave a link in the comments! And yes, Hannah is my adorable and beloved cousin- our mamas are sisters!

  8. Pingback: input as life source. |

Leave a Reply

