Cinco de Late-O

If I was really prepared, I would have posted this recipe for you last Thursday on Cinco de Mayo. But I’m just not that coordinated. However, I didn’t want to let too much of the spring slip by without sharing this tasty cocktail with you. You’ll definitely want it in your summer adult beverage rotation if you’re into this sort of thing.

My friend Liz shared this with me years ago, and it is our go-to crowd pleaser when we are doing anything Mexican-ish for dinner. Yo Burrito  here in town has my favorite margaritas, and this recipe comes really close to it. An extra bonus is you don’t have to squeeze a bunch of fresh lime juice! If I was a really good blogger I would take my own photos and demonstrate making these for you. But, we’re out of tequila (and I always feel super classy taking my three kids to the liquor store.)

Liz’s Tasty Margaritas

6 oz. can of frozen limeade concentrate
tequila (silver or gold, top shelf or cheap-o)
triple sec (citrus liqueur)
Ice
Kosher Salt
Lime Wedges

Get out your blender. Dump in the limeade concentrate and use the can to measure your liquor. Put in a full can of tequila (6 oz.) and a half can of triple sec (3 oz.). Fill the blender half way with ice, and blend until combined. Add more ice to your liking and blend well.  I like mine frothy and icy and not overly runny.

Pour out some kosher salt on a little plate (about 2 tbsp.) Take your margarita glass (stemless wine glasses work well) and run the lime wedge around it. Turn the glass over onto the plate of salt and twist. Pour in the margarita and either squeeze the lime wedge into it and drop it in, or garnish the side of the glass. This makes about 6 drinks.

In case you need a little appetizer to go with your tasty beverage, I think Pioneer Woman’s Restaurant Style Salsa is delicious and super easy to make.  If you’re making dinner, try Annie’s Chicken Fajitas– they are incredible!

photo from goodhousekeeping.com 

3 responses to “Cinco de Late-O

  1. At Morganelli’s they have a basket of lollipops for the children who accompany their classy mothers. Did you know if you’re pregnant AND totin’ kids, they give you an extra lollipop? 🙂

    can’t wait to try these by the pool in a few more weeks!

  2. Seriously awesome recipe-o. Just reading a margarita recipe makes me happy. I think I might just pop in Morganelli’s for a lollipop, too! That’s terrific, Katherine! I can just picture you and your brood and it is giving me a chuckle. 🙂

  3. Oh Katherine! That made me laugh. You’re my hero. 🙂

    That recipe looks similar to my brother’s, which he gave me last week too. Also, try blending up 1/2 lime (rind and all) in with it. The lime gives the margarita a little more bite. We loved it!

    PS. Sarah B. has a killa guac recipe. It’s worth begging and/or stalking her for it. You’ll thank me later.

Leave a Reply

