Division of Labor

I wanted to give you a little peek into what’s known at my house as Mount Laundry. I have yet to reach the summit. Although I feel like I wash a load a day, not a week goes by that I don’t have to re-wash a load that has sat wet in the washer for two five days. The problem is, our closets and drawers are a mess so it’s hard to put clothes away, so I don’t want to bother folding them, so I don’t bother getting them out of the dryer, so they get stinky in the washer, and so the cycle continues.

One thing I have noticed about the laundry pile here at Grace Cottage is that it is very unevenly divided. About 98% of it belongs to people other than me. Let’s have a look, shall we?

Okay, clockwise from top left:
1-Scott. 2-Me. 3-Towels and Sheets. 4-The Girls. 5-Jack

My sweet husband has a heart for mercy ministry. He really does. His ministry extends all the way to my dining room table:

Yes. He really did fold it all. Thank you, honey!

Now if y’all will excuse me, I have some laundry to do. My washer’s starting to stink.

4 responses to “Division of Labor

  1. Ooooo, I thought I was the only one who actually washed damp loads multiple times because they were stinky. Did I ever tell you how I managed to mildew stain ALL of B’s new birthday tshirts last year? Not the ratty ones with holes & stains under the arms but the spanking new, pima cotton ones his sweet mother gave him. Ugh…aren’t we blessed with husbands who love us with acts of service!)

  2. George is a regular climber of Mount Laundry as well. Glad my husband’s not the only one. Because I will wash it, but apparently, I will. not. fold it. Even though I say I will…Never happens.

  3. Oh, Mary Beth! I am so happy to have found you this morning. I saw a comment you left on Fly through my Window blog. I was intrigued by the comment and then realized it was you!!! I am smiling right now just thinking about the good ole days at PC and what a joy you were to be around. I love your post. I have a stinky load right now, waiting to be rewashed. Just glad to know I’m not the only one 😉 I think I’ll go do some laundry right now!
    Love you! Cindy (Lewis)
    PS The Tedd Tripp article was excellent! Love those guys.

    • Cindy!! You are so sweet. You are a big part of my journey with Christ and I look back on those PC days with joy! 🙂 Funny thing about the laundry… not long after I posted that, my washer broke!! So Mt. Laundry has gotten colossal! ha! Love you!

Leave a Reply

