Bah Nah Nah Bread

Weight Watchers Banana Bread

Scott teases me that instead of saying buh-nan-uh the way normal people do, I say ‘bah-nah-nah’ like a weirdo. Maybe I do? I haven’t noticed.

Anyhoo. When we moved in, our dear neighbors gave us The All New Ultimate Southern Living Cookbook as a housewarming gift. It is chock full of some awesome recipes and is a great go-to cookbook for basics as well as fancy-schmancy recipes. (Like this dip and this cake. Hello delicious.)

I discovered this Banana Bread recipe in the cookbook, and it is perfect. Very tasty with a consistent texture- it’s moist all the way through. The secret is the yogurt, I think. It freezes well, makes great muffins or three small loaves instead of a big one. Remember how we talked about getting out there and entertaining? How about a loaf of this for Saturday Brunch, with scrambled eggs and fruit? Simple and easy.

Banana Nut Bread

2 cups self rising flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup chopped pecans, toasted (I use 1/2 c. walnuts and 1/2 c. pecans)
1/2 cup butter, melted
3 very ripe bah nah nahs (about 1 1/2 cups)
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/4 cup plain yogurt (any fat)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Grease and flour the bottom only of a 9×5 loaf pan.

Combine flour, sugar, baking soda and nuts in a large bowl. Make a well in the center of the mixture.

Combine melted butter, mashed bananas, eggs, yogurt and vanilla in another bowl. Then add them to the dry ingredients and stir just until combined. Pour batter into prepared pan.

Bake at 350 for 55 minutes. Check for doneness with a toothpick and bake a few minutes more if needed. It will be very ‘golden’ (aka dark brown) when it’s done, usually with a nice crack down the top. Cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes and then flip it out and cool it completely on the rack.

Makes one loaf, or about 20 muffins (bake 18-20 minutes), or 3 mini loaves (bake 25-30 minutes)

**SEMI-WHOLE WHEAT VERSION: Instead of 2 cups self rising flour, substitute 1 cup all purpose flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 tablespoon baking powder, and 1 teaspoon salt. Everything else stays the same.

photo credit

5 responses to “Bah Nah Nah Bread

  1. Favorite cookbook of all time. Ever. I also like the cream cheese bah-nan-nuh bread. That’s become my go-to recipe. CHOMP!!!

  2. I can’t believe I’ve never you noticed you saying that. I have a sensitive fake-fancy detector that apparently has failed me. Regardless, I have some black bananas in my freezer that need to be used so I will give it a swing this weekend. I have been meaning to tell you, now that you’ve conquered your fear of yeast with pizza dough, Annie’s honey yeast rolls are the best things ever. No, really – ever. Report back.

  3. MB,
    I love how you are willing to share your fabulous recipes…it shows that besides just practicing your gift of hospitality, you are willing to bless others, by helping us cultivate our own hospitality. 🙂 Your heart is so generous!

    …in fact, you have motivated me to email you the lemon cake recipe, just ’cause.

  4. i want a list of big-crowd, kid-friendly sunday lunch ideas

  5. Pingback: Summer’s Coming… make some Basil Dip! |

Leave a Reply

