breakfast before bed


My kids love oatmeal for breakfast. I think they might wish they could eat it every day. Because I’m such an awesome and fun mom, I give them plain oatmeal.  Mmmmm. Not so much. Just trying to keep it real with the sugar intake. So we put a little honey and cinnamon in it. This week I forgot to restock our instant oatmeal stash, so I went with this recipe that you actually prepare the night before. It’s creamy and healthy and it’s so nice to shuffle into the kitchen and breakfast is already done.

Here’s how it went down at my house last night:
10:15 – cozy in under the down comforter and crack open my magazine.
10:23 – remember that the kids said they wanted oatmeal for breakfast.
10:24 – force myself out of the covers and wander to the kitchen.
10:25 – set out crock pot on counter, plug it in and grab a 4 cup pyrex measuring cup (or similar sized casserole dish)
10:26 – into the pyrex, pour 2 cups water, 1 cup whole milk, 1/2 cup steel cut oats and a pinch of salt. stir.
10:27  – put pyrex in crockpot, fill crockpot halfway with water, put lid on. Turn on low.
10:28 – get back under the covers, smooch my hubby, pull my sleep mask down, and nighty night! (I can hear y’all laughing about that mask. It will change your life!)

Does it get any easier than that? In the morning, you just plop on a dollop of almond butter or peanut butter and a drizzle of honey. Maybe some flax seeds if you’re feeling crunchy.

I found the recipe (and the photo) at Food52 a few months ago. Here’s the link.

{EDIT FOR VEGANS: Substitute almond milk or soymilk for dairy milk. You will want to either decrease the liquid by about 1/4 cup or add in another 3 tbsp or oats to get the right consistency}

5 responses to “breakfast before bed

  1. MB. that sounds soooooooooooo good. is there anything special about steel cut oats, b/c that sounds way fancy. would mr. quaker in the giant canister work? seriously might be breakfast. you had me at peanut butter.

  2. I am a sleep mask FANATIC!! I can’t sleep without mine, and I have several just in case I misplace one. My husband has stopped mocking me b/c he knows i am DEAD serious when it comes to the sleep mask. DEAD SERIOUS. So glad to hear i’m not alone…

  3. You could try Quaker, but I’m worried it might turn out mushy. Steel cut oats are more like grains of rice and take a lot longer to cook vs. regular oats. Swing by here and I’ll give you some to take home and try!

  4. Hey MB- Hmmm….I just bought a sleep mask for my flight to Africa this week. Pete made fun of it, but I bought him one too 🙂

  5. Pingback: vegan eats. |

Leave a Reply

