Means of Grace

Scott has been teaching our high school class at church about the Means of Grace. I love this class because it is just about on my intellectual level (ha)… The Means of Grace are: The Word, Prayer, and the sacraments of Baptism and Communion.

Seeking the means of grace has been very present in his mind lately; and I agree with him, that if we could all experience them as God intended, our lives would be richer, fuller and brighter.

And yet, so often, we do not seek the means of grace. We do not approach the Throne of Grace with confidence to find help in our times of need. I think, that we are so happy and comfortable with the good things in our lives, that it is those things that we seek instead of Jesus.

The real question is, from what are we drawing life?

Do we immerse ourselves in God’s Word to find wisdom, guidance, and meaning in our life? Do we long to rest at the feet of Jesus and to gaze upon him in prayer? Do we eagerly await the blessed Lord’s Days where we can share in the Christ’s Body and Blood? Do we reflect with great gratitude and amazement at the day we were marked as Christ’s own?

I’m sad to say that for me, that is rarely the case. This is what I am drawing life from: my pantry, Facebook, the gym, Diet Coke and Chocolate Dipped Peanut Butter Pretzel nuggets, working in my garden, PTO…

The issue is allowing good things to become ultimate things… rather than letting the One who is Ultimate rule over these good things. That, and my complete lack of effort in opening God’s Word and letting Him fill me with his grace through it.

So I’m off to spend a little time at the Throne of Grace. Let’s talk more about this soon.

Lets us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need. ~Hebrews 4:16

4 responses to “Means of Grace

  1. hooray for a new post! our pastor calls this worshipping the gift instead of the Giver. i struggle with it, too, my friend. thanks for the wise words.

  2. Oh. Seriously.
    I. Love. You.
    This post makes me teary about who God made you to be – and to reach, MB. Praying God uses you to minister to others the way you minister 2 me.

    My dad always said…God is offering the T-bone steak of life and we are happy to gnaw on the bones. How I need to be still before Him and stop filling my days with good rather than best. And also…where can I get some Chocolate Dipped Peanut Butter Pretzel nuggets?

  3. Whoooohooo:) You are a blogger. This is beautiful! Refreshes my soul. GRACE. God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense. I love what Ellen said too about worshiping the gift instead of the Giver. Then Shawna’s dads quote about the steak. The meat is definitely better than the bone….fo sure.

    I love the dew, straws, Facebook, blogs, working in the yard etc. But, love the Lord with all my heart and soul. His grace can bring us more love, joy and comfort than anything here on earth:)

    Lylas,
    alliemac

  4. You’re DOING it!! Blogger lady!!

Leave a Reply

