the minimalist schedule.

simple chickpeas

In thinking about mindful minimalism, I guess what I’m really going for is simplicity. But that word bugs me, I think because it is so overdone now. Everything is simple: My magazine is Real Simple. My trashcan is Simple Human. My chickpeas are Simple Truth.

sim – ple [sim-puhl]   adjective, sim·pler, sim·plest,

1. easy to understand, deal with, use, etc.: a simple matter; simple tools.
2. not elaborate or artificial; plain: a simple style.
3. not ornate or luxurious; unadorned: a simple gown.
4. unaffected; unassuming; modest: a simple manner.
5. not complicated: a simple design.

As much as the word gets overused, I can’t deny that these definitions describe perfectly the way I want to live my life: Not artificial. Unadorned. Not complicated. 

After examining my habits and relationship with food, input and stuff, I want to spend this last week of 31 Days looking at time and how I spend it. To see if there are ways I can work toward more mindful use of it. To consider how I can eliminate waste of it.

Thanks for joining me on this journey. I’d wanted to spend a day or two answering questions and sharing thoughts about what we’ve talked about this month… I’d still love that- let me know in the comments about anything you’re thinking through that we can address at the end of the week. Who knows, maybe like Suz you’ll get your own guest post!

gray31days

 

31 Days of Mindful Minimalism: Day 25

 

4 responses to “the minimalist schedule.

  1. I have issues with the word simple too, but I haven’t found the perfect substitute. I also wonder about our obsession with making EVERYTHING simple: simple steps, simple tips, simple ways to do [blank]. I don’t like simple being lumped together with shallow. Is there a way to live simply and deep?

  2. Hi MB! Just wanted to let you know that I cleaned out my closet with you. I had to really repeat “if you don’t love it, don’t keep it” mantra. I also chose this de-cluttering after the kids were in bed…..so it was quick and clothes donated the next morning. Out with the “post-baby” clothes and the “I spent so much money on these but they never fit right.” I may regret some decisions, but I am sure that someone else can enjoy what felt like a burden to me. Thanks for the motivation my friend. Love, Kristen

  3. Totally overused word, but I love the peaceful feelings it conjures up! I would totally buy something labeled “simple piece of junk” over a no-happy-adjective “piece of junk!” Totally shallow but true! Also, let me just veer off topic and state that I totally regret offhandedly referring to garbanzos as “butt peas” in front of my kids. Le sigh.

  4. Pingback: right on schedule. |

Leave a Reply

