keeping home: the chore chart

chore chart

there is no shame in waving the white flag and hiring help to keep your home clean. If that works for your family’s budget, it can be a huge help and relief to know that your  floors will get mopped with some regularity. For us right now, we’re making it work on our own, and I’m okay with that.

I do believe our kids can learn from an early age how to keep a house tidy and clean. Despite my sweet mother’s best efforts, it really took me well into adulthood and home ownership to appreciate a clean house. I’m still not very good at it. We certainly aren’t running a tight ship or well oiled machine in our house, but the chore chart has been a huge step in the right direction. Everyone wins in this situation: the house gets cleaned weekly, the kids learn how to do the work, and my future daughter-in-law will love me because my son has learned to scrub toilets. #winning

Instead of devoting one whole day or afternoon a week for cleaning, we go with the ‘do a little every day’ approach. This works especially well for laundry to keep it manageable instead of letting it pile into a stinky mountain that must be conquered.

I’ve divided the house and each child has one bedroom and one living space (den, dining room, sitting room) that they are responsible for each week (the girls share a room, so one does their room and one does the guest room). They have to vacuum and dust each room (we do our room and bathroom each week too) and everyday the three of them rotate with another ‘job': bathroom wiper, laundry helper and kitchen helper (which Bug now calls ‘kissin helper’ and it’s my fave).

I’ve got a bucket upstairs and down with the supplies they need: microfiber cloths, old washcloths, dusting spray and bathroom cleaner) and I help bring the ginormous vacuum up and down as needed.

Before school started this year I made a chore chart and laminated it. On one side is the chart with each day’s job and responsibility. On the other side, I’ve listed the individual tasks required for the job to be done right. I’m not militant about perfection but definitely want them to learn to do tasks well. Of course there are days things don’t get done, but we catch up on Saturdays and take Sunday off.

The best thing about it? It frees up my mind to not have to think/dread/procrastinate getting the house clean and keeps us a little closer to ‘company ready’ so we can enjoy hospitality without scrambling. Having less stuff and taking care of what we have is always a good thing.

How do you handle housekeeping at your house?

gray31daysThis is day 20 in the series 31 Days of Mindful Minimalism.

One response to “keeping home: the chore chart

  1. Oh, I need a kissin helper.

Leave a Reply

