where the heart is

kitchen sink

the tears came unexpectedly as I stood at the sink last thursday night doing dishes. I was reflecting on the thoughts that had filled my head and simmered daily as I stood there, washing in the hot soapy water. the next day we’d give the house to someone else. and a not-so-little piece of my heart would go with it.

Grace Cottage. Six years ago, God gave us this place. After months on the market, our house hadn’t sold. We’d decided to stay put and make it work. Jack was three, Molly was one, and Ginny was on the way.

Then one day, a friend of a friend came along and bought it. The very next day, we found grace cottage. God made a way. He said go.

We poured blood, sweat and tears into this place, literally. {Scott- blood and sweat; Me- tears}. Weeks of long days and late nights handcrafted these cozy walls, nooks and memories. there have been memories too many to count, but the hand of God has shaped them all.

Two cribs in the girls room with lime  painted panel walls lined up and taped by Shawna. Big blue stripes for my big boy. A long-awaited ‘grown up bedroom’ with peaceful walls and beautiful bed linens. Sparkly gem appliances and big kitchen drawers. Big family room filled with people we love, sharing life.

Red dining room turned believable buff schoolroom, I will miss you. You have greeted me every morning with the light of my mother’s day lamp for my Bible and coffee time. I cherish your quietness and the richness of all you represent.

Grace Cottage brought change in unexpected ways. New jobs. Public school. Seminary. Home school. New church. Joys and sorrows, all bundled through each step. God faithfully leading and directing along the way.

My heart is here, wrapped up in the sweetness of this place. Truly a haven of rest from the world, battleground for sanctification, His hand of goodness hidden on every shelf.

Once again, God has said go. He has made a way. After months on the market and not selling, a friend of a friend has come along and bought it.

While I know I cannot grasp this place too tightly, I will tuck these precious memories into the corners of my mind and heart. There will be another quiet place to sit and sip and read. More memories. More joy and sorrow. More sanctification. 

It may not be another cottage, but it will be filled with Grace. 

6 responses to “where the heart is

  1. MamaPat (Patsy Hinely)

    We always seem to be caught up in our memories. That’s ok as long as they do not dominate us. Our love of things of our family and friends are all wound up around our visual memories. That’s human. It’s part of how we remember. As long as God is in it, let Him lead. He knows our love and appreciation. Let Him lead and let it flow. Just keep your heart and soul focused. HIs leading is definate because He never is unsure. We can’t help but be (human and unsure at times) but we need to listen. Our families are watching us for how to listen. Love them and teach them to love Him.
    MamaPat

  2. Oh me, oh my. I love you so, dear girl. Love to read your heart processing this journey. Even though it isn’t a cottage (more like an estate) that you’re going to, where you live will always be warm and cottage-y and inviting. It’s just who you are. Oh – and I love that I was with you when you bought those Anthropologie bowls. Can’t wait to make more memories with you in the new place. I’ll tape any walls Scott is willing to paint! haha. :)

  3. What a special place you all have made it, physically and emotionally. The Grace is in YOU, from God. It will go with you, as He will go with you. And guess what: we’re crying too!!

  4. I love all of this. Such a sweet cottage with so many wonderful memories. I know you’re going to fill up that estate (to borrow Shawna’s word) with lots of warmth and grace.

  5. Pingback: input: temptation. |

  6. Pingback: mindful minimalism: home |

Leave a Reply

